Bible Journey and outreach events

Bible Journey, Elevate, Everyday Life, Ministry, Thoughts

As some of you know if you read along, our Elevate Directional team has been reading through some books of the bible every morning in our quiet time. We read a chapter each morning and just text to everyone some thoughts of that days reading. We started in Acts, and now we have transitioned to 1 Samuel. It was really cool this morning in my readings because it is after the Israelite army has lost the Ark to the philistines and not knowing what to do with it they put it in the same room as their god. Well then it says 2 Then they carried the ark into Dagon’s temple and set it beside Dagon. 3 When the people of Ashdod rose early the next day, there was Dagon, fallen on his face on the ground before the ark of the LORD! It was just so cool to me that their Idol could not even stand in the presence of our God…hah that’s what I am talking about, nothing holds a candle man!

I also went to an outreach event on campus yesterday, it was something that our ministry was involved in, with several of our folks representing. The only hang up I have about this event every year, is that it is an event for the lost…but they never show up? We expect a bunch of people that believe in nothing like we believe to show up to a praise and worship concert and a moment of preaching the gospel? Hear me out I am not saying this is a bogus idea, I am just not so convinced that it can be pulled off they way it is and has been attempted. Plus I was able to walk down a long hill, grab my food and sit down and finish my hot dog before the first word was said to me? I am guilty of this too, but we are so concerned about us sometimes and so comfortable with our group and our life, that these things seem like a cool idea, and we know were suppose to do them, but we just aren’t really feeling the scene when it comes time to get out of our comfort zone. If we are going to swing for these events as Christians, we have to be ready to step into their direction, before we ever expect them to step in ours!

But who am I, I don’t have the answers, but I am not ready to stop searching for them!

Leave a Reply

