To Break the Silence

Ministry, Uncategorized

2215198561_781bb758dd_m

I guess I quit blogging for a couple reasons, one because I am a horrible writer.  I am huge dreamer but very inadequate when it comes to living beneath the standards you have set within your mind and what you call educated.  The second reason is because for a moment there I began to lose my grip, or my way.  I became so caught up in what you the reader thought and so tied up with all the expectations that come with my job being a “PASTOR.”  It is unbelievable that we have set such a standard for a pastor that he cannot be vulnerable without him losing his voice.  Trust me I know that there are a few of you who read this that do not hold this standard, but I also know somewhere in side of us we hold unbelievable expectations for ourselves and the people around us.  So think on those terms and then apply it here.  But I write now because of this….

I am so past the thought of existing and so ready to begin thriving!

I could end with the above line but instead I will explain the path of this landing.  I feel as though God has created every one of us uniquely and wonderfully to fulfil his purpose.  But have you ever received directions from someone to an incredible restaurant and you begin heading down that road that you knew they said to turn on, but you have been here for a while and you just cant seem to find your destination so you turn around.  Or maybe you end up settling for McDonald’s cause at the end of the day you’re just hungry.  When all it took was not second guessing yourself, and just staying true to the one who knew, the one who had come before you.  Well this is kind of where I am at.  So many people are on the road to where God has called them too except they begin thinking too hard about the chance that they just might have missed the turn.  So they give up or choose the long way, or another alternative, or whatever.  I feel so many of us are here, we have given up and just began settling.  Forget the traveling parallel and just think about this

“For we also have had the gospel preached to us, just as they did; but the message they heard was of no value to them, because those who heard did not combine it with faith.” Hebrews 4:2

Knowing is useless if you do not put faith in the truth you know.  It is so simple when read but yet so difficult when applying.  Two final thoughts:  You are where you are because God built you for this moment or maybe you just ended up here because you have never gotten past existing.  Either way God built you for this moment! Begin Thriving or you might as well begin dying! He came before not for the heck of it but so that He could show you the way, now trust in it!

Leave a Reply

