It seems all they want is to die for a moment to live

Uncategorized

Since my departure from Elevate Church life has been such a ride.  There has been the lows of uncertainty and the highs of the new adventures on the horizon.  But during this triumphant return to Georgia I have been given a lot of time to ponder some of the greatest issues within this world.  Ok so maybe just within my life and my surroundings but trust me not to be anything less than dramatic…these are world shaking tragedies.   So here is my soapbox….

Everyone gets to this point where you will die for something…maybe not literally lose your life in these situations but where you would give up everything you know to know something different, to have for a moment clarity, such as…for you it may be a job.  Not just any job but your dream job.  No matter who you are or what you have experienced up unto this point, nothing matters but this job.  You would give anything for a moment of clarifying truth and experience in this very thing that you feel will make you whole.  The problem is once you have it, it’s not enough.  Ok maybe it’s not a job for you but a person?  Once you laid eyes on him or her you knew from that moment nothing mattered in life but the pursuit of this person.  Because this person is the very thing that is going to fill the void in the deepest part of your soul.  But again that feeling grows like a thirst that seems will never be quenched!  I know you are thinking ok I see where this is going but really do you?  Cause from my experience though this seems obvious these are the very cycles that the people in which surround you and I are in, and these cycles are vicious.

We know the answer and it seems somewhat “Sunday Schoolish”…nothing can fill/complete/fulfill you besides Christ and his spirit.  But people are desperate for a moment(and the crazy thing is they will just settle for a moment), but a moment of 100% authentic never-failing undeniable wholesome completing truth within their lives.  It seems all they want is to die for a moment to live…

Today I realized I am not much different from them.  I haven’t heard it much better than this “Awaken what’s inside of me, tune my heart to all You are in me, even though You’re here God come, and may the vision of You be the death of me.”(Vision of You, Shane & Shane) This is the purest cry I have heard in a while for God to move within a way you can’t explain.  But this is my cry, I want just for a moment to see God, even though the Bible speaks that no man can see the face of God and live to tell about it, I want it anyways. I want within my deepest being to see God, and to see him sweep this place.

I guess what I am saying is I see so many people around me dying to live and I can connect with that feeling more than they will ever believe because at some point someone called me Pastor.  But I do understand and I stand here with you saying there is a moment worth losing yourselves to.  And I want you to find that moment.  But I feel so alone in this battle.  I know there are so many of you living this and participating within a movement that are seeking the unchurched/lost/dechurched or whatever churchy name we have placed on these people who consist of what has become the norm.  But I am fighting and though you are probably there I feel alone.(Don’t read into this, I know I have God on my side)  But as for flesh and blood I am dying to find you who believe and are desperate enough to die for a moment of love for these people.

So many times this month I have heard “wow, you really are called and have a heart for the lost”…why is that surprising!  Rise up church and be the very thing you claim.

And by the way I am not leaving this soap box until we find the sense of urgency we read so much about within scripture.  Fight with me to help his children find worth.

2 thoughts on “It seems all they want is to die for a moment to live

  1. Q: Why has the Church become so marginalized in America? A: Because Jesus has become so marginalized in the Church.

    Reynolds i am right there with you bro. I will echo the guy above me and say press on. We serve a risen Lord who sits on high and that makes intercession for us, now let us take up our rightful place as the church and make intercession for the lost and dying around us. To make each moment count, for the glory of God so that we might be witnesses to a great awakening in our generation.

    Hebrews 12:1-3 -Therefore, since we have so great a cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us also lay aside every encumbrance and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, fixing our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of faith, who for the joy set before Him endured the cross, despising the shame, and has sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.For consider Him who has endured such hostility by sinners against Himself, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart.

    Love you brother,

    Meers

Leave a Reply

